Cock-a-Doodle-Three

Well, dentists eh? Went to the referred dentists to find myself given an appointment ON TIME (as opposed to three-quarters of an hour late as per the usual dentists surgery) and being seen by a delightful young Spanish woman dentist – polite, and helpful to the point of going over my X-Ray with me (which she didn’t have to do). The young woman who took the X-Ray was equally polite and delightful. I have now changed dentists, even though I intend to finish the treatment at the current shambles.

What an area for dread is the parents’ evening at school. Luckily, ours went smooth as silk, with the little princess scoring highly on the academic and charm front. Very proud parents we were as we walked out!

Headed off to the Little P’s favourite restaurant, Pizza Express (!) and had a highly enjoyable meal to celebrate her “good report”. The meal was enlivened by a try-too-hard waiter who should be on the stage somewhere – his hilarious banter was given in good faith, and P wasn’t too freaked out.

Rewatched Tim Burton’s “Big Fish” when we got home. It didn’t work for me first time (I was still on a down after the wasted opportunity of his “Planet of The Apes“). It worked this time, but I can’t help being left with the feeling that Tim Burton could make better films – I want magnificence of the order of “Nightmare…” every time, please… I think his reputation (for me anyway) now stands and falls on “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” – he’s got a hard act to follow, even if we’re just accounting for Gene Wilder‘s tour-de-force.

Leave a Reply

